Room Sharing Fail

We have always wanted our children to share a room and knew this day would come.

I put our daughter in first in her bed and then I put her brother on his bed.

I listened.

Nothing.

I went and sat at the table and began to work on finishing up the school curriculum for both of them.

About 1 1/2 hours passed and then I hear a faint crying. When I went into the bedroom, our daughter was on my son’s bed and he was whimpering saying he needed water and that he “kept forgetting something”.

Needless to say we have reverted to the separate bedrooms once again and will try a little later when I can survive a night of little sleep.

Oh and did I mention that it is 11:39 and my daughter just finally stopped making noise?!

This entry was posted in Christian Parenting, Daily Living and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Room Sharing Fail

  1. Julie Harris says:

    We,too, have experienced room sharing fail! Praying for good nights ahead!

    • Any advice? Last night and today was rough lol.

      • Julie Harris says:

        How far apart are your children in age? Neither one of my girls were good sleepers. My older one didn’t sleep through the night until I had #2… and then baby didn’t sleep through the night until about age 3. I’m still catching up on lost sleep, lol! But they are worth it :) When the younger one would wake up, I eventually sent her into older sister’s room to get in bed with her. That is when the room sharing started. The older one eventually wanted her own “space” and they have had separate rooms for several years now… although one of them often sleeps on the other sister’s floor. Hope you are able to take naps today :) Blessings to you!

      • naps were a total disaster today too. Guess they had it in for me lol. They are 2 years apart and are terrible sleepers too. They wake at the slightest thing so maybe room sharing is not in the picture yet.

  2. Janis Cox says:

    Tanya,
    Have you tried “white noise” or some type of noise maker. Our kids use this with their families. One uses a humidifier; the other a sound machine. It muffles the sounds of the other sleeper.
    blessings,
    Janis http://www.janiscox.com

Leave a Reply

