Not Peter’s Ladder, My Ladder

2 Peter 1:5-8 (KJV)

And beside this, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue; and to virtue knowledge;

And to knowledge temperance; and to temperance patience; and to patience godliness;

And to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity.

For if these things be in you, and abound, they make you that ye shall neither be barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

For those of you who don’t have children you might not get what I am about to say, but children (by “children” I specifically mean a 2 year old) HELP (it is more like push) you to climb this ladder.

Today was one of these days. I was really SCHOOLED in patience.

Today for lunch we had cooked potatoes (it would have been mashed potatoes but we had an incident with mashed potatoes last week so no mash potatoes), steamed broccoli and lentil stew with chick peas. It tasted really nice.

Well, i had to get up from the table before my son was finished eating and that is when the lesson started. My son insisted on taking the lovely chick peas and lentil stew and skating it off his plate onto the table. I got back in time to see him skating it from the table onto the chair he was sitting in.

Then from the chair he proceeded to skate the peas on the floor despite my pleas for him not to.

Talk about a quick lesson in Peter’s ladder!

I keep telling my husband about some of the fun things our son is doing and he insists that there is something I should be learning from these experiences.

He’s right!!!

God wants me to reach every round on that ladder-having faith, being virtuous, having a true knowledge of God….and the round I seem to be suck at right now…being patient.

And being patient does not mean taking a deep breath and counting to 10 or 20. It means allowing God to change me (you) and take the impatient spirit from me (you).

That is what I am learning. But it is a long hard lesson. But by God’s grace I will learn.

This entry was posted in Christian Parenting, Daily Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

