Family Worship

I am so very blessed to stay at home and raise my children for God. It is such a high calling-one that I did not fully understand the magnitude until I began to undertake it.

From the time our son was born I started doing morning devotion with him, which evolved into family worship. Now we have our daughter our routine has further evolved.

Here’s Our Routine

5:00-6:00am Wake up.

Daddy does morning prayer with our son while I do it with our daughter. This works this way since she is still sleeping in our room and when our son wakes Daddy goes to him. I first started doing this to show our son, and now daughter, that we are to start our day with God. We are to be thankful for each new day that He has given to us.  

6:00 am-6:30am Personal worship

During this time Daddy does a few songs and story with our son, while I sing and breastfeed our daughter. I we have finished before them she will go in with them as well. We started this to help our children develop a love for coming to God in the morning and searching His word for themselves. Yes they are too young to do it for themselves right now but we are hoping to teach them from right now that we must first feed our souls on God’s word before we do anything else. We must start our day with God no matter what.

6:30 am -6:45 am Family worship

We come together at this time and do worship together. We have songs, our son recites his memory verse for the week and we have a story. We are doing the bible stories in order as far as possible. We are trying to show our children that “a family that prays together stays together”. And just like the Israelites of old offered morning and evening sacrifice to God we too as a family will do the same.

5:30 pm-6:30pm Evening Family Worship

Depending on where we are and the time of the year, the time varies but it more often than not falls between 5:30 and 6:30p.m. If we are out and are coming home we do it in the car and call it “evening car worship”. This also consists of one of two songs and a story.

6:30p.m. Night Time Prayer

In bed our son insists on doing worship when we go to tuck him in. Well I say we, but he like daddy to do it most of the time and sometimes I get to stay but other times it is just him and daddy 😦 . But it is just me tucking in our daughter so I suppose I’ll live. But back on track, after worship, we end with our nightly charge which goes like this:

Remember mommy loves you, daddy loves you, baby sister (or big brother depending on which child it is) loves you, but most of all Jesus loves you. And Jesus wants you  to….(this varies. Sometimes I say things like Jesus wants you to shine for Him, Jesus wants you to obey…)

My husband and I are striving to live by this text:

Joshua 24:15
And if it seem evil unto you to serve the Lord, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.

This post was also shared on:

Consider the Lilies

This entry was posted in Christian Parenting, Daily Living and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

