Autism Awareness Month and My Father’s Love

Our Labours of Love are getting exciting and my son is really enjoying doing them.

Well some, if not all, of you might know that April is Autism Awareness Month and I have finished up the Weighted Vest that I posted about here. The pattern is now available for those persons with autistic children or who know someone who would benefit from this vest.

School is out but we are going to be donating our vests in a couple of weeks. I’m so excited!

Take a look at one of the vests I am going to donate.

vest

photo (17)The more I read about autism, the more I am learning how challenging it can be to deal with a child with autism, especially one who might be on the severe end of the spectrum. But yet parents do all that they can to care for, nurture and most importantly demonstrate their LOVE for their children.

This love reminds me of a GREATER love than that demonstrated by these selfless parents. It reminds me of my eternal Father who LOVES me with EVERYTHING.

You see, from the time I was born, I was spiritually ill and dying spiritually because of sin. But my Father loved me so much that He made a cure available for me, so that I would not have to die because of this malignant spiritual cancer called sin.

In order to give me this cure He had to give up His son.

John 3:16 (NASB)

For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.

He GAVE Him to me, not lent Him. THAT IS LOVE!!

It was not an after thought on His part. He had ALWAYS planned to save me when I became spiritually ill. As a matter of fact, He had always planned to save each person because we are all born spiritually sick because of sin. No one is exempt.

Revelation 13:8 

And all that dwell upon the earth shall worship him, whose names are not written in the book of life of the Lamb slain from the foundation of the world.

In giving His self for us, He made the cure for sin available to each person.

We must choose Him and in so doing we choose the cure for sin which is His life.

And would you imagine that even though He did so much for us in giving up is Son for us, each and every day God still works for us-sustaining us, protecting and most importantly, seeking to SAVE us.

2 Peter 3:9 (NASB)

The Lord is not slow about His promise, as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing for any to perish but for all to come to repentance.

This is what is truly a Labour of Love.

I just thank God for all that He is doing for our salvation (mine and yours), and that He gives me the love and strength to do my small labours of love to cheer and bless others.

labours fo love

 

This post is also shared on:

3 6 7  13

This entry was posted in Labour of Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

