I Want To Bear Lots of Fruit!- (A Family That Prays Together…Series)

family that prays

Last week we began this series A Family That Prays Together Stays Together by recognizing that we should be praying for ourselves first as we begin to pray for our families.

Now there are a lot of things that we can pray about for ourselves. We have A LOT of things that need working on-well at least I do! But even though they are specific sins and shortcomings that we will definitely be pouring out our hearts to God about, there are some general things that each person should pray about. 

The place I found myself looking was Galatians 5:22-23

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.

Each day I see my shortcoming in one or all of these areas or should I say fruits. I pray about bearing different fruits and more often than not it seems like those prayers are not answered…Well so I thought.

But then I realized that when I pray for patience and a situation arises to REALLY test my patience, it is not that my prayers are not answered, but that God is providing the opportunity for me to trust Him and allow Him to give me the patience I needed to go THROUGH the situation.

So I continue to pray for each one of these fruits. Some days I have to pray harder about a particular fruit, other days it is another. But I will keep on praying because God has promised to make me into the person He wants me to be- the person:

– who loves and is loving

– who is joyous and spreads joy to all

– who has peace despite all that is raging around me

– who shows kindness not just to those who love me, but to my enemies

– who does good to and for everyone, irrespective of who they are

– who is faithful in all things, even the little ones that seem so insignificant

– who has a gentle disposition despite having the strength of God available to me

– who has self control though pushed to the limits

And what God has promised He is faithful to accomplish. I just have to let Him!

This post was also shared on:

3  image image image Making your home sing Mondays  1 image   17   TeachMeTuesdaysButton  250-Titus-2-Tuesday-Button  23  24    Wisdom Wednesday2 (1) Jesse Wilcox Smith~ On His Knee    49 Thoughtful-Thursday-Blog-Hop  heartsforhomelink-up Thriving-Thursdays-300x300  35  38 39

This entry was posted in Christian Parenting, Family That Prays Together and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I Want To Bear Lots of Fruit!- (A Family That Prays Together…Series)

  1. I like your portrayal of fruit as more attitude than accomplishment. I am finding that looking at it any other way is full of beartraps, like Jesus’ admonition, “Get away from me, you evildoers!” even when the disciples had done miracles in His name.

  2. I love seeing the list spelled out like this. Except that I see how far short I fall. 😦 Gives me more reasons to pray, though, right? Thanks for sharing this.

  3. Mia says:

    I had the same problem with this fruit bearing, until the day I realized that I was striving to bear fruit, but our Lord Jesus told us to just abide in Him, allowing Him to live His Life in and through us. Then the fruit becomes His character in and through us.
    Much love

  4. I see God answering my prayers (like yours you mentioned) all the time! So I guess the warning should be, “Be careful what you pray for … you just might get it!” ha! I 100% agree, though, that prayer is vitally important to the health and strength of a family and marriage, my friend. I’m so glad you’re doing this series. It’s a great topic and I’m so glad you linked it up with Wedded Wed!

    • Lol, you know how much times I have said “Be careful what you pray for” most of the time I am saying it to myself!
      Oh how important prayer is! We have got to use it more effectively and as I go through this series I pray that we all will lex pertinence the power of prayer in our lives and families!

  5. This post should make anyone stop and do a little self evaluating. I am always praying for God to help me to be a better praying warrior for His glory. Seems as though my pray never gets answered at first glance. But when I stop and think about it, ever time I pray that prayer His working on me. Thanks for sharing God’s forever word.

Leave a Reply

