New Every Morning

I am often up every morning WAY before I would like. Many times I am up before dawn. I usually get up, do my devotion, start to prepare breakfast and then join the rest of my family for Family Worship.

Now I might sound like a wonderful, industrious…(you can fill in the blanks there with wonderful adjectives) mom. But I’ll be honest, doing this would definitely NOT be my choice. You see I LOVE to sleep (or should I say, loved to sleep) but I have 2 extremely early risers and I have to be up with them. So now it seems like my body has been re-wired to wake up around 5 every morning. Unfortunately most days it is before 5 am.

Well yesterday, my daughter got up at 3:40am and refused to go back to sleep. Needless to say I was up then and could not go back to sleep while she was up. I got annoyed, felt so overwhelmed at the prospect of being completely wiped out with taking care of the children on little sleep.

Then, in the midst of my feeling overwhelmed, I looked out the window and realized that of course I would get frustrated being up so early since I was just in a routine and not really taking time to praise God for His goodness.

This is what I saw outside my window yesterday.

image

Heres another shot

image

And now I have realized that instead of looking at situations as they appear I have to ask God to show me the blessing He has for me through the situation.

 

And now I am looking at the blessings I have just from waking up so early. Here are just 3 of them:

– I can spend time in devotion to God

– I can prepare a healthy, exciting breakfast for my family

– I can see God’s power and love in the rising sun and dawning of a new day.

Lamentations 3:22-23

The Lord’s lovingkindnesses indeed never cease,For His compassions never fail. They are new every morning;Great is Your faithfulness.

This entry was posted in Daily Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

