Wives Submit Part 1 ( A Family that Prays…Series)

family that prays

“Wives, submit yourselves unto your own husbands, as unto the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife, even as Christ is the head of the church…. Therefore as the church is subject unto Christ, so let the wives be to their own husbands in every thing. Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ also loved the church, and gave Himself for it.”

For many women and even girls, this text is the source of a lot of frustration, hurt and resentment because of what many people believe this text suggests.

Total, complete subjection to a man, while loosing all their will…

This is NOT what this text means!

I remember when I was younger saying that I would not be getting married if women were to “submit” like it was being advocated. I was COMPLETELY APPALLED at the thought of a man having control over me and treating me as less than equal, less than valued.

And so, I found myself resenting God’s design for the family because it was so misrepresented by families, especially families in the church.

But, more than this, I found myself resenting God for this design, where the husband was to be the head of the family….

“AS CHRIST IS THE HEAD”

This is the part that I had missed, and sadly many people miss this part too.

So I determined that I could not and would not submit to a man because I was as important as he was and there was no way I would let him treat me as anything but that.

This was the place I was in and struggled in for many years. But, God is gracious and has brought me to a realization that nothing is wrong with submission as He intends.

I was on the side of the spectrum where I was totally opposed to, and antagonistic towards submission because it was portrayed as subservience. But, there are other women on the other side where they believe that submission means subservience And so they consent to be treated as inferior because they think that this is the way it is supposed to be.

Both sides are wrong!!

We as wives, women, girls…. can fight against it or go along with the wrong understanding of it. OR we can let God guide into the correct understanding of submission.

And so as we begin looking at submission let us pray that God will guide us to the true understanding of what submission means. let us pray that Christian wives will live true submission that others will see from our lives what submission really is!

this post was also shared on:

bcc62-wedwedbuttonsmall Wisdom Wednesday2 (1)

This entry was posted in Daily Living, Family That Prays Together and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wives Submit Part 1 ( A Family that Prays…Series)

  1. Matt Ulrich says:

    Interested to see the next post… I’ll be posting from the man’s side in a few days. This is something I’m passionate about having a biblical understanding of as well!

Leave a Reply

