Standing in the gap…(A Family that Prays…Series)

family that prays

Many wives complain that they do not have husbands that are fulfilling their roles. When this happens it can be frustrating, angering, disappointing and physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually exhausting. Believe me, I know!

When this happens, as wives we can respond one of three ways:

Response 1

We can throw our hands up in the air in complete frustration and despair and say”I give up! I’m done!” And what this means is that whatever y(our) husband was supposed to be doing does not get done. After all, how can it get done if he is not doing it. Are you supposed to be the head of the family and the priest and wife and mother as well?!

Response 2

This response is one that I must admit that I fell into HARD. I saw a lack. I discussed it with my husband. He saw the lack. He acknowledged the lack. It still remained.

And so I recognized the importance of the thing that he was supposed to be doing and I did it myself. I took up “his” role and “didn’t let it fall”.

Sounds nice? But you see the problem was that it was his role not mine.

And this brings me to response #3

Response 3

Ezekiel 22:30

I searched for a man among them who would build up the wall and stand in the gap before Me for the land, so that I would not destroy it; but I found no one.

Ezekiel 13:5

Ye have not gone up into the gaps, neither made up the hedge for the house of Israel to stand in the battle in the day of the Lord

  • Don’t let the responsibilities languish because of you husband’s lack of taking up his responsibility
  • Stand in the gap and take up the responsibility for your family.
  • Encourage your husband to take up the role that he is not presently fulfilling. Don’t think that your are in the mans position, but instead show him that he should stand in his position.
  • When you are in that position, don’t let the power get to you. Don’t think that you are better than your husband and start treating him badly! No!.
  • Build him up to stand in the gap. Don’t tear him down.

Stand in the gap

Today let us pray that we wives stand in the gap in our families. Let us not be discouraged because our husbands might not be doing what should be done, but let us take up the responsibilities in our families and not let them drop. God will strengthen us as we make up the hedge around our families!

This post was also shared on:

Wisdom Wednesday2 (1)  Jesse Wilcox Smith~ On His Knee

This entry was posted in Family That Prays Together, Marriage, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

