The children’s first sleep-in Camp

Two Wednesday’s ago we went to camp. It was the children’s first sleep-in camp. Everyone was excited, but I had a lot of reservations-

  • The children are horrible sleepers
  • They like to see and know everything
  • Camp is typically noisy
  • Overnight camping would be something new.

NOT GOOD COMBINATIONS in my book. But we still went.

We had 2 tents and my the plan was to let my son sleep with his father while my daughter and I slept together. But since my husband wanted to go to the night discussion, I was left with both children in the tent by myself.

They played, they talked, they laughed, they sang, shouted and then played some more.

THEY HAS A BLAST!

Me?-NOPE.

Around 7:30 my son fell asleep. But my daughter, refused to sleep and was up until about 9:30 pm. Then just before she fell asleep, the air bed burst!! So I had to hop off the bed and sleep in a little corner next to the bed in hopes that it would stand up throughout the night.

Then I had to put my daughter on me to sleep because as the airbed got softer she started to play around more.  So I had to hold her in my arms until she fell asleep. After she fell asleep I put her back on the air bed but she was so restless that she kept rolling all over the place-on me and her brother.  My night was spent mostly awake.

Then they blew a whistle at 5 am.!!!! Talk about prayers for the children to sleep through that whistle lol. And they did. But the man blew it again at 5:30 and this time they woke up. Granted it is their usual wake up time, but sheesh what a rough night it was!

I was so exhausted the next day! My husband was absolutely rested. The children were full of energy as usual.

Here are a few pictures of camp.

image image image image image

 

We survived our first over-night camp and they are looking forward to when we can do it again. The verdict is still out for me though!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

