The Life of a Pastor’s Daughter Part 2

FIND US FAITHFUL SERIES

Last week we heard part one of Grace’s testimony about her life as a pastor’s daughter. This week we will hear the conclusion of this testimony as Grace shares how she is no longer just a pastor’s daughter but a CHILD OF THE KING. You can read part one of her testimony here and visit her blog here.


 

…I was severely lacking in faith, and I was trying to look more and more like the world.

…My cousins were all toying with the occult, and I followed suit.

….Even while I tip-toed into darkness, I knew that I couldn’t stay for long. Soon I was faced with a decision: to follow the Creator, or His rebellious creation.

At fifteen years old, after nearly three years of gradual rebellion and ambiguity, I made my choice. I waded back into the Christian life, rejecting and rebuking the enemy’s tricks, and I was baptized again while attending a church camp. I hadn’t planned on it. After all, I had already been baptized. But I felt the Spirit urging me. I needed to start afresh. So, fully clothed, I stepped into the pool and was baptized by my youth pastor. From there, life changed.

It’s been 14 years since I’ve been baptized, and I won’t pretend that everything is—or ever was—perfect. Life is still difficult. Hardships come and go. But I believe that God has enabled me to persevere.

…Through it all, He is there.

God has continually revealed Himself to me over the years, and I am so grateful for His gift of salvation. That’s what He has shown me through my stepping away—that

// even when I fail and I walk away, He’s there, waiting for me to come home //

God has done a lot of work on and through me. I’ve worked in a few different ministries, been on missions trips (Mexico, Hungary, Scotland), attended Bible college, and served my church(es) in a few capacities. But more than these obviously ministry-oriented events and activities, God has revealed Himself in everyday life. He speaks to me when I interact with my children, when I look at His creation, and when I spend time in His Word. And He has come through for us in the midst of financial crisis, job loss, postpartum depression, the diagnosis of our daughter’s Rett Syndrome, hurt from friends, physical ailments, emotional woes, and much more. He’s always there.

Even when I’m in sin and not living as I should,

~HE is faithful.

~HE is constant.

~HE is always there.

I’ll end with a verse that spoke to me while I was attending Bible college in Vajta, Hungary:

But now, thus says the LORD, your Creator, O Jacob, And He who formed you, O Israel, “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name; you are Mine! When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they will not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be scorched, Nor will the flame burn you. For I am the LORD your God, The Holy One of Israel, your Savior…” Isaiah 43:1-3

 

This entry was posted in Agape Love, Daily Living, Find us Faithful and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

