Not Just a Church Thing

FIND US FAITHFUL SERIES

Today we have another testimony from Tanya. Tanya is a child of God, wife, stay at home mom and homeschooler. She loves the Lord and loves telling people about who He is. By God’s grace her husband and she intend to live out Joshua’s statement “but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord”. And so her greatest desire is to see her Lord face to face and along with her family, join in the joyous strains of triumphant voices praising our Lord and King.


While in my teens I began to notice the emptiness I felt inside and I really longed to have it filled. I knew deep down that the only way this void could be filled was by Christ living in my heart. Every week I would attend church and always felt empty even after sitting and listening to the service. Yet I did not let Him fully take control of my life.

At University, I attended a few campus fetes with some of my friends, and even went to some others with some friends from church on nights we were looking for something ‘fun’ to do. Our idea of ‘fun’ seemed to exclude Christianity. Somehow, in our minds, well I can definitively say that in my mind, Christianity was just a Church thing. So when church was over and there was a need for enjoyment and excitement, I tried to find it apart from Christianity.

The fetes did not sit well with my personality but I did find other things to do like going to the beach, hanging out with friends, watching television.

But you know the saying “God moves in mysterious ways”. It sure is true. I joined a Christian volleyball team around this time and that was instrumental in changing my life. We played hard, we laughed, we had fun, but somehow christianity was always kept at the front of it all. Before eery practice so eine did a devotion. Sometimes after practice and games we had feedback sessions and lessons learnt we applied to our Christian experience. It was so refreshing! No longer was Christianity seeming to just be about church attendance but about a way of life- a new life.

We had breakfast, we went out to eat, we had sleep overs, we exercised, we played games, we had socials- children, adults and youth all together. I saw that Christianity could not be compartmentalized. When you are a Christian you are one at play, a work, and home and at church. It was refreshing.

That team really helped to change my outlook on Christianity. I wasn’t seeing chistianity as separate from other aspects of life- it was life. And I was no longer seeing God as a judge that you had to formally address like you do in a court of law. More than 14 years have passed and I still remember how a guy began his prayer one night at practice…”Oh Lord, good evening…” That’s how you greet a friend!

I looked at my teammates and realized that they lived Christianity everyday and in every situation. Am I saying that they were perfect and did not make mistakes? Nope. Loads of mistakes were made. But what they showed was that their Christian walk was not limited to church attendance.

Today, I pray that God lives within and shines out so that others can see Him in me and not only know I am a Christian when they see me in church clothes.

This entry was posted in Find us Faithful. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

