Frozen in An Icicle of Depression Part 3/3

FIND US FAITHFUL SERIES

Today for our Find Us Faithful Series we have part 3 of Lisa’s testimony on her depression. Be sure to read part 1 and part 2 of her testimony. Be sure to read other the other testimonies in this series here.


image

It takes courage for you and me to be brave enough to share our stories.

You may or may not struggle with depression. But more than likely there is something that you are walking through that is difficult. Whatever that is, it does not define who you are.

I struggle with depression, but it doesn’t define me.

Depression doesn’t make me any lesser of a person than someone who doesn’t struggle with it. It’s a weakness that keeps me dependent on God.

It takes faith daily for me to trust God with my sadness, frustrations, and fears. I’m healing and it’s a hard painful process. My journey is far from being over.

I’m discovering who God is and how He sees me. I am His. He made me. He wants me.

There is a reason for my life. There is a reason for your life. We are complex, beautiful, creative, and so much more. The creator of the universe, created you and me. He knew us before we were born. He is eternal and our life is forever in Him.

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made…” Psalm 139:14

Struggling with depression has been a humbling experience. I can’t do life without my faith in Jesus and His resurrection.

Jesus loves people and He meets them right where they are at in their hurts. No matter what they are going through. I want to be like Jesus. I don’t want to be a victim of my depression. I want to be part of the solution.

I’m becoming more compassionate. I’m less judgmental. I like who I am becoming.

There is another side to depression. It starts by accepting who we are in God’s eyes. Depression is part of our story, but not the author. It’s realizing that we are the writers.

My story has many chapters with new beginnings and wise endings. Parts of my story are better than other parts. It all depends on what I’m focusing on. I write pretty good chapters when I let God lead me.
None of this is easy and the last thing I want to do is minimize the hardship that comes with depression. It’s tough. I will take more time in the near future to share myself with you and not be so general. I’m learning to work through it and writing about it is a process. There are many more personal revelations to be revealed.

I will be hosting other writers who are brave and willing to share their stories. If you have a story to share please email me at lisadesign@comcast.net. Stay tuned for a posting with a schedule of writers.

To learn more about me and participate in a Me Too Community blog, please come visit me at
https://communitymoms.wordpress.com/

What is your story? Will you share it? Who is the Author of your story?

This entry was posted in Family That Prays Together and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frozen in An Icicle of Depression Part 3/3

  1. Jen says:

    Lisa thank you for sharing and inspiring me today.

Leave a Reply

