Honey, Can We Hire Someone To Pick Up After Our Kids?

 

imageIt’s our last weekend of March, which mean this the the last weekend where we look at the topic “Building Responsibility in Children.” Be sure to check our all the posts on this topic. Starting 11 April 2015, we will be looking at the topic “Setting Boundaries vs Stiffling Individuality”

Today in our post, our co-host Lisa from Me Too Moments for Moms, shares about how they teach their children to be responsible in doing chores and in helping in general. There are loads of information that is shared here.


image

image

Sometimes I just want to give up and pay someone to follow my kids around all day and pick up their stuff. But I don’t, I want my kids to be responsible and do it themselves.

It takes practice and self-realization to be responsible. It’s my job as a parent to guide my children through life showing them and providing them opportunities that will challenge them to make good choices and do great things.

“The price of greatness is responsibility.” – Winston Churchill

It’s in the everyday things we do that teach us who we are. We learn what motivates us, what we are good at, what we need to work on, and what we inspire to change.

“Character provides the foundation of spiritual and moral strength that rule our decisions, commitments, and faithfulness.” Sally Clarkson from Own Your Life pg. 163

Justin, my six year old son doesn’t like chores but, he does it anyway because we don’t let him move on to what he wants to do until he does. He will find the least resistant way to accomplish a task. He is too busy creating adventures in his head. Not a bad thing. Quit admirable to be an inventor with great imagination. The problem Justin runs into is that he never knows where anything is.

Work hard and don’t be lazy is a character trait that I would like to see Justin grow into.

“Poor is he who works with a negligent hand, But the hand of the diligent makes rich.” Proverbs 10:4

Kaylee, my five year old is an organizer. Loves to help and finds great value in doing things around the house. Her philosophy is that you help me and I will help you. She often sings, “The more we work together the happier we will be.” She doesn’t want to pick up after herself, but she will pick up after everyone else. She wants to be appreciated and gets upset when not acknowledged. Kaylee threatens us often that if we don’t help her, she won’t help us.

I would like to help Kaylee serve with a joyful heart with no conditions attached.

We are here to serve one another. Jesus has said, “Even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give His life a ransom for many.” Mark 10:45.

For a few months I opened up a kid’s toy store in our basement. I bought items all under $10.00 and I re-priced them to be less. They earned money to buy things on Wednesdays after 3:00 pm.

Earning money meant doing extra work. Justin didn’t like work and Kaylee did. It took my son weeks to earn money to buy. His sister never missed a week.

When they went to the store they were asked to tithe a portion to God from their income. They saved their coins in a glass jar. Justin liked this idea. Kaylee wasn’t crazy about it.

I provided the store and extra house work in hopes that both kids would begin to understand the importance of earning money and giving God a portion of it.

There are so many ideas about how to encourage kids to do chores and be responsible. What works for one family or child does not always work for the other.

I expect my kids to clean up so they learn to care about their things, themselves and others.

Instead of yelling, I try to make clean up fun. Sometimes we play music, sing pick up songs, have races, help each other, and I usually have something fun for them to do after they are done. Like tea and cookie time, a fun family show, or an outing.

I help my kids clean up by sorting their things in piles for them to put away, or giving them one task at a time, and we pick up three to four times a day so things don’t get overwhelming.

It’s frustrating when our kids don’t want to cooperate. At times it seems easier to just do it for them. But, in the long run it’s best that they learn to do it. They are so proud of themselves when they do!!!!

image

My kids don’t always listen and they ignore me. They create their own clutter. I sometimes resort to yelling, bribing, threatening, and complaining. But, this is not the kind of mom I want to be. I take several time-outs per day and pray extra hard for patience.

Parenting is difficult at times and together we must remember that anything worth doing is hard work!

image

April’s Parenting Weekend topic:

“Setting Boundaries vs Stifling Individuality”

To find out more about this writing opportunity please leave a comment or email Lisa at lisadesign@comcast.net

 

This entry was posted in Christian Parenting, March 2015 Parenting Weekends and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

