Not Now God, I want to Live a Little First!

I remember when I was around 12 years old that I really felt God calling me. I longed for the time when Jesus would burst through the clouds and take His children home. Those thoughts occupied my mind a lot.

Even though I had gone to church from the time I was very little, I did not grow up in a christian household. Not growing up in a christian household, I was very conscious of how non-christians viewed how christians lived. In my family, a spade is a spade, no matter who it is.

During my teen years, part of me wanted to follow God all the way, but there was another part of me who wanted to “live a little“. I knew that my non-christian family would call it as they saw it if I chose to get baptized and still go out and “enjoy” life.

And so I waited to make to be baptized. I went to a few parties, even went to a few fetes.

Instead of giving my life fully to God, I told Him to wait! I told Him that I would surrender after I just had a little time to live a little.

My idea of Christianity was all wrong back then. I thought being a Christian meant loosing out on having fun and living a fulfilled life. I thought that it was boring, restricted and serious.

“Tomorrow Lord…I’ll surrender tomorrow,” was always my position during those years.

 

No wonder I held that position. My view of Christianity and of God was all wrong.

Who was God and what was being a Chrsitian was all about?

When we have a wrong concept of God, we will have a wrong concept of Christianity. Being a Christian is not boring, it’s not dry and dull. Being a Christian does not mean that you don’t live and enjoy life. On the contrary. Being a Christian is the night of fulment.

As I learned more about God’s character, I learned that there was nothing that this world held over christianity. I learned that a life with God is not just a promise of eternal happiness when ahe comes again. I learned that a Christian life is one of true joy and happiness NOW.

1 Peter 1:8

and though you have not seen Him, you love Him, and though you do not see Him now, but believe in Him, you greatly rejoice with joy inexpressible and full of glory,

This entry was posted in Stories to inspire and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

