When Something Good Becomes Bad

I have been working on a lot of things for quite a while. It was a case of definitely biting off more than I could chew.

I was extremely tired. Because if it and those closest to me suffered. Because I was up all night working on things it meant that I had a hard start to my morning. My children, however, had their usual early morning start, between 5:30 and 6:30 (yes you saw that right!)

Having young children meant that I had to get up earlier than I could physically manage. I had headaches, little energy and was pretty cranky during the day. Not a good thing for a homeschooling mom who has no downtime during the day.

And so I decided that this was too much. I was up researching school, planning things, sometimes getting some blog posts done. All of these things are good but they were taking the place of sleep, which in turn was robbing me of energy to properly deal with my children and family.

And so, for the last two months I have decided to take a different approach. I am going to bed earlier, limiting my involvement in things to what is more manageable, saying no (especially to myself with the myriad of ideas that pop into mind).

The blog has been a bit quieter than usual, my involvement in things outside the home has been less. I have been working on a new routine so that I can manage my time and priorities better. So far it has been going well.

And because I know that I am not alone in this “work too hard on things that are good and then those closest to you suffer” cycle, I will share the specific details of what I have been doing to get things organized in a seperate post.

Don’t get so wrapped up in doing something good that one of the most important things suffer- your family.

This entry was posted in Daily Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

