Parent Today As if there is No Tomorrow.

september parenting

 

Today is our second last post in our September Parenting Weekend. Join us starting October 3rd for our first post dealing with the topic Raising children to be leaders.

our co-host Lisa shares with us about how she remains calm when disciplining her children. Her secret lies in how she views parenting in general and how she sees her job as a Christian parent.

 


imageParent Today As if there is No Tomorrow.

By Lisa

I care about my children’s feelings.  I want them to feel respected and appreciated.   I want them to know that they are valuable and that they are more important to me than anything else.

My family comes first in my life.  They are a gift from God and I cherish every second with them.  I strive to live each day as if it was my last.

Tomorrow is not promised. 

I can’t worry about that.  There is no time to fret about the unknown.

I make sure that my little blessings know that they are desirable, precious, and important.  I remind them that they belong to God and that they are protected by His mighty hand.  I encourage them to seek God’s truths.

They are my jewels from God’s big treasure box.

I know that if I die in the morning I can rest in peace.  Because, my two jewels understand who Jesus is and so do I.  We find comfort in knowing that we belong to the Creator of the universe and that our real home is with Him in Heaven.

I don’t take lightly the calling on my life to create a heavenly home for my family.  A home where laughter reins, peace abounds, and grace unlocks shame.   

Truly there is no place like home.  We fail as a family and we get back up.  We sin and we forgive.  We get knocked down by fear and we get back up in faith.

Click here to read the rest of this post


Don’t forget our upcoming themes:

October 2015: Raising children to be leaders
As parents we don’t want our children to follow the norms and practices of this world. We want them to think for themselves and to inspire other to do what is right.

November 2015: Parenting a strong-willed child
Parenting is Jo easy business and it often times seems ten times worse when a strong-willed child in thrown into the mix. How do parents of strong-willed children cope? What advice can we share with parents?

If you are interested in writing for this series contact me at godscharacter@outlook.com.

This entry was posted in September 2015 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

