If I have no Love I am Nothing

1 Corinthians 13

Welcome to day one of our study in 1 Corinthians 13. If you have not gotten the printables for the study you can find them here.

As I read the first 3 verses of 1 Corinthians 13 two things stood out to me

~ Without love I am nothing

~ Without love, nothing I do is of any benefit.

These first 3 verses speak about having inspired preaching, being able to understand secrets, having a faith so strong that it could move mountains, and even going as far as being a martyr. These verses are not speaking about a person who is not claiming to be a Christian. These verses are speaking about those who appears to be the biggest and best Christian.

These verses are saying that if a person looks like the best Christian on the outside but they are not motivated and controlled but love, everything they do is worth nothing.

They could subject themselves to torture, they could give away everything they own and make a vow of poverty, they could be the most charismatic preacher, they could even give their lives for a good cause, and yet if they did none of this from love it would all be worth absolutely nothing!

So then, we must really sit and ask ourselves,

” Was that good thing that I did because of love or because of something else?”

“Do I love that homeless person that I gave that food to?”

” Do I love the people I just preached that message to, including the ones in the congregation that gossip about my family all the time?”

” Do I love the people that I smiled and said good morning to or was it just the Christian thing to do?”

What is our motivator for everything that we do? Let it be LOVE.

This post was also shared on

Titus Tuesdays

This entry was posted in 1 Corinthians 13, Bible Study and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

