The Strong-Willed Child (who has special needs)

imageToday, we continue our November Parenting Weekends where we are looking at the topic “Parenting a Strong-willed Child”. Last weekend we had a lovely post by Robin and yesterday I shared with you my experience dealing with my own children.

Today our co-host Grace, shares with us about her experience having a strong-willed special needs child.

The Strong-Willed Child (who has special needs) 

by Grace 

There is a fine line I must walk. My oldest child, now seven years old, is strong-willed. That, in itself, is challenging. But to have learning and behavioral challenges in addition to a strong will only enhances the inflexibility and makes the situation much more explosive than it would otherwise be.

I wish I could say that I’ve figured it all out. I wish I could say that I found “what works”. The truth is, I haven’t. This post is not about answers. It’s about empathy and encouragement.

Continue reading here


Upcoming News 

December 2015: How to raise compassionate children
This world has a lot of pain and suffering. How can we raise our children not only to feel saddened by the pain that others feel, but also to reach out to help others?

Aside | This entry was posted in November 2015, Parenting Weekends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

