Raising Compassionate Children- by Ashley

image

Today we have another blogger, Ashley, share with us about raising compassionate children. But before I introduce this writer I would like to invite you to check out the entire Parenting Weekends series here. To read all of the posts on this month’s topic “How to Raise Compassionate Children” click here.


Raising Compassionate Children

By Ashley Lane

Hello, my name is Ashley Lane. I’m married and a mother to 3 amazing kids, 4 years and younger. I am a lover of God, my family, laughter, good books and delicious food and write about all my adventures Mommy Lanes Adventures. I’m always striving to learn and grow in Christ and my hope is to have a joyful heart in all things and to share that joy with as many people as possible.

Tonight I took my 4 year old son with me to take food and chocolate chip cookies to my parents. My mom has a 2 inch scar across her neck from having part of her thyroid removed a few days ago. My son was eager to see his Nana and Papa and was happy to help me. We were there all of 15 minutes so I could put together their plates and make sure they were settled. Though my son was sad to go so quickly he didn’t complain and was pretty quiet for the first few minutes home. Then this question was asked.

“Mommy, will cookies really make Nana feel better?” I could hear it in his tone and in the way he said those words. I could see his mind working, (I thought cookies were just a special treat and apples and bananas and carrots and a lot of green yucky stuff makes us better)

My response was a classic mom response and one I wouldn’t have thought twice about had I not had the subject of compassion on the brain.

“Cookies will help them feel better in a different way. It will make their heart happy to know that people love them and want to take care of them and do special things for them when they are hurt.”

“It’s a good thing, yup a good thing.” That was his final thought on the subject. Pretty fitting.

About this time on the way home I knew exactly how to teach compassion to my children and I realized that without even knowing it I have been doing it already. Now that my kids are past those baby years and I’m more aware of it I will try harder. I’m sure that I have had so many opportunities to show them compassion but without even thinking about it I’ve dismissed them. Raising a kid up with compassion begins with being compassionate people ourselves. It begins with doing those little things for people in need and involving our children in the process. If they are not there to see compassion, to see their parents, who have the most influence on them showing compassion to others then it will be that much harder for compassion and a loving heart to come natural to them. In everything we do, those little eyes are watching and learning and will eventually be doing so even the smallest gesture, the littlest prayer and even a batch of cookies can grow a compassionate heart.

2 Corinthians 1:3-4  Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God

This entry was posted in December 2015 Parenting Weekend, Parenting Weekends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

