My Faith Looks up to Thee

 

imageRight now we are doing an author study in the children’s class at church. It is fantastic to take a look at the lives of the people who wrote those powerful hymns we have today.

I often wonder what the hymn writer was going through or had gone through to cause them to pen those verses that they did. When you take a look at the person’s life and the time in which they lived, you realize that so many of those songs were penned amid severe persecution, plagues and hardships which most of us will never know.

Yet, these men and women wrote of hope in God, of peace in knowing Him, ofsurrender to Him inspite of all that life had thrown at them.

I am amazed!

I am amazed and inspired by the testimonies that these hymn writers have left for people like me, so that we can be encouraged when we face life’s storms.

Like Ray Plamer wrote almost two centuries ago, when I am facing hardships I can know to look up to Jesus for He will comfort me through what ever I am facing.

 My faith looks up to thee,
thou Lamb of Calvary,
Savior divine!
Now hear me while I pray,
take all my guilt away,
O let me from this day
be wholly thine!

May thy rich grace impart
strength to my fainting heart,
my zeal inspire!
As thou hast died for me,
O may my love to thee
pure, warm, and changeless be,
a living fire!

While life’s dark maze I tread,
and griefs around me spread,
be thou my guide;
bid darkness turn to day,
wipe sorrow’s tears away,
nor let me ever stray
from thee aside.

When ends life’s transient dream,
when death’s cold, sullen stream
shall o’er me roll;
blest Savior, then in love,
fear and distrust remove;
O bear me safe above,
a ransomed soul!

Through faith I am assured that the God of love who kept those men and women of old, is keeping and will continue to keep me each and every day.

This entry was posted in Agape Love, Character of God, Daily Living, Prayer, Stories to inspire and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

