What Happened to the Angels that Sinned? Week 1 Day 5

img_4019

Welcome to Week 1 Day 5 of this study ‘He camefrom Heaven to Earth’. If you have not gotten your Study plan or Study Guide be sure to get them here and here.

Don’t forget to join us Monday to Friday until 23 December for this study. If you have missed any of the posts, you can still get them but visiting the study page here.


Picture heaven as a family. Everything is going great in the family, then someone else wants to take over. The brightest, highest of all the children wants to be the head of the family instead of the parents.

Sin began in the mind of Lucifer. It wasn’t always in his mind, or any other mind for that matter. But it developed in his mind and then 1/3 of the other angels sinned as well.

The same spirit of discontentment and self exaltation that Lucifer had, somehow was transferred to the other angels.

I picture something like this:

I picture Lucifer talking with the other angels, telling them how bad God was and how much he should be promoted to a higher position. I picture him telling the other angels that they could also be like God. I picture him spreading lies about God.

Oh how it must have broken the heart of God.

As a parent, I would feel so terrible if one of my children tried to disrupt the family by spreading lies about me, created an atmosphere of strife and confusion and influenced my other children to hate me and go away from me.

I cannot imagine how God felt.

Sometimes, I don’t even think that we think about how God felt. But God is love, and He is affected by all that happens to His creation. If I am certain  that my heart would be broken if my children went away from me, then how much more God’s heart must have been broken in sadness for those angels that sinned.

“And there was war in heaven…” Strife and commotion occurred in the heavenly family, so intense that it was a full out war. Have you ever seen the ravages of war? I haven’t seen them first hand, but the pictures I have seen show such devastation…This was the scene in heaven.

Revelation 12:7-9
And there was war in heaven: Michael and his angels fought against the dragon; and the dragon fought and his angels,
And prevailed not; neither was their place found any more in heaven.
And the great dragon was cast out, that old serpent, called the Devil, and Satan, which deceiveth the whole world: he was cast out into the earth, and his angels were cast out with him.

And so, Satan and 1/3 of the heavenly family left heaven.

This entry was posted in Bible Study, Character of God, He Came from Heaven to Earth, Knowing Christ. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

