Man sinned Week 2 Day 2

image

Man was created perfect in a perfect world.

Genesis 2:9
And out of the ground made the Lord God to grow every tree that is pleasant to the sight, and good for food; the tree of life also in the midst of the garden, and the tree of knowledge of good and evil.

Genesis 3:2-3
And the woman said unto the serpent, We may eat of the fruit of the trees of the garden:

But of the fruit of the tree which is in the midst of the garden, God hath said, Ye shall not eat of it, neither shall ye touch it, lest ye die.

Man was created free and placed in the Garden of Eden. Man could choose to disobey God’s command and eat the fruit from the tree of knowledge of good and evil or he could choose to obey God.

One day while going about her business, Even found herself by that forbidden tree. Suddenly a voice was heard. She looked and saw that it was a serpent speaking to her.

“So, did God tell you that you can’t eat of the fruit of all the trees in the garden?” Cleverly, the question was asked leading her to question the command given.

I remember when I was a girl on vacation from school. My mother would go off to work and leave the instruction not to go outside. One day, I was inside, just like I was instructed to do. My friend came over and called for me. I looked through the window. He asked me, “Is your mommy home? Can you come outside?” There he was, outside in the open, free to run and play, and there was I, inside.

His situation looked better than mine. I felt confined and restrained.

“Why am I told to stay inside and he is just a year older than me and he can go outside?”

img_3701

I am sure my friend didn’t ask me the question to make me compare our situations and make me feel confined, restrained and repressed. He simply wanted me to come out and play.

Genesis 3:6
And when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was pleasant to the eyes, and a tree to be desired to make one wise, she took of the fruit thereof, and did eat, and gave also unto her husband with her; and he did eat.

Satan asked Eve if she could eat of every tree. Hi intent was to cause her to question God and sin.

Adam and Eve chose to sin.

After they sinned, they saw that they were naked and the became afraid. When Jesus came to visit them and called out to them, they ran. Fear had come in because of sin. Sin had caused a change in their relationship with God. Their relationship was based on love and trust and now that was changed to one of fear.

But, not only did their relationship change, their choice brought Other changes with it. The curse of sin came in. Thorns and thistles came. Leaves whithered and died. Animals died. And death was the result.

Man’s choice, on its own, had left them in a hopeless state. But man’s choice wasn’t the only choice to be considered. There was also God’s choice to save mankind despite their sin.

It is because of that choice that humanity wasn’t hopeless and wasn’t doomed to be lost forever.

This entry was posted in Bible Study, Character of God, He Came from Heaven to Earth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

